One letter, one word, and one sentence.

You have to start somewhere. I had no idea where that somewhere was. Who am I to write a book, can I do it? The answer was yes, of course I can and I did. The first sentence popped into my head and I just had to get it out. The moment I sat down to type, it just flowed. It was exciting and scary. I didn’t tell anyone not even my husband. How could I? I’m not an author. What if it was total crap? What if it isn’t? It took four chapters before I told him.

What I didn’t know is how much work it is and how much I would love every second of it. Revising, editing, spell checking, revising again, grammar check, filter word removal and revising yet again. It sounds boring but when it’s your story its part of you and as you make it better and closer to perfection it fills you with joy.

I had no idea what I was doing and now I’m going to share what I learned and what I learn. Yes I’m still learning. There is so much to figure out. Word count, how to edit, what to do when you think your done? What is publishing? How to publish or rather find a literary agent.  It’s complicated and scary. And what the heck is a Query letter? I’ll get to that too.

So here is my first piece of advice. If you want to write a story, any story, but uncertainty or fear trips you up. Tell it to go to hell and just do it anyway. Start with one letter make it a word, add a few more and voila you have a sentence. Before you know it you will have a paragraph then a chapter and a finally a book. Just have fun with it.

-Sheryl

 

Copyright © 2016 All rights reserved

 

8 thoughts on “One letter, one word, and one sentence.

  1. Such a nice post! I have not written a book, but I’ve slowly started. I have to admit I’ve been discouraged due to doubts about myself and capacity, but I want to be able to find it in me to keep going because I enjoy it and love it.
    Thank you for this post! 😊

    Like

      1. I believe so as well! I reach a point where my thoughts are clear of how and what I want to write down and advance on it, but the transition from a thought to the paper is quite challenging because of self doubt. Thank you, I’ll try my best to keept that in mind when I find myself in front of the computer screen. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You have to start somewhere. My rough draft was… really, really rough. Once it was down, cleaning it up and making it shine was hard work, but rewarding. You’ll know when its the right time to write your story. It will have nothing to do with being ‘ready’ it will be about a spark of inspiration, a moment when you feel like you cant hold it in and you must, absolutely must write it out. Go for it, if you’re nervous about it don’t tell anyone until you build that confidence up.

    Like

What did you think?

