Confused

“Confused.” The state that you do not want your readers to be in.

One of the most important reasons I have my work reviewed is so others can let me know if it’s confusing or not. After my first draft of BiaAtlas, there were a few points where conversation became muddled or the action was hard to follow. Once pointed out, they were errors that were easy to fix with some revision and editing.

I just finished reading a published book by a well-known author. In this book, two characters were mid conversation. I had to re-read to figure out what the characters were talking about because I was confused. The subject didn’t fit the flow of the scenario. It’s not something that causes me to stop and say aloud, “Good gravy I’m confused!” It just happens and the annoyance slips in as I scrunch my brow and go back.

I don’t like being confused when I’m reading a book, I prefer to be lost in the story and not pulled out to hit paragraph-rewind and lose the flow. So, it’s important to me to make sure my story isn’t confusing but not flat out in your face boringly over explained either.

My advice about confused writing.
Simplify or add clarity. If its jumbled toss out the junk. If it’s hard to follow dialogue, add some actions to clarify the speaker. Most importantly have someone you trust to be honest read and let you know if they got stuck, lost or just plain confused.

-Sheryl

via Daily Prompt: Confused

Read, revise and repeat. The shampoo process of editing.

Copyright © 2016 All rights reserved

What did you think?

