Crazy things

Rejection part two.

Life and what seems like millions of crazy things have me a little hurried this week. I don’t want to give less than my best, so I’ll share the next part of Sasha’s bar encounter right after walking away from Cal. I like this story and the characters, they are not from BiaAtlas but from a side project inspired by my using them as examples in my blog posts.

“What happened?” Valery did a little excited dance as Sasha set the tequila shooters down. “Yum, thanks.”
“Not my type and you’re welcome.” Sasha salted her hand and downed a shot. She glanced at Cal talking with a friend and watching her with interest as she sucked on a lemon wedge.
“Bullshit. He was perfect.” Valery downed a shot after licking the salt from her hand and sucked a lemon wedge. “Mmmm and gorgeous. He could be a model or movie star. Too bad he won’t even look my way. I wouldn’t brush him off.”
Sasha rolled her eyes as Anne ran up.
“Yay.” Anne licked, salted her hand and proceeded to do both shots at once. “I’m thinking of going home with Neil, that’s his name.”
A commotion on the other side of the bar area blocked their view of Cal.
“Anne you shouldn’t, he could be dangerous.” Sasha furrowed at her drunk friend.
“Pfft. The über serious insurance accountant. He’s boring as hell, but he has huge hands and feet.” Anne giggled. “Valery knows him.”
Sasha glared at her friend as she finished her second shooter. “Do you?”
“Yeah he’s my tax guy. I thought you might like Neil, but he’s into Anne and you’re about as fun as sandpaper panties tonight.” Valery shrugged and eyed Cal who stood with clenched fists, scowling and watched his attractive friend storm off and out of the bar.
“You’re impossible Val. Why can’t you just leave me alone?”
“Because Sash, you need to get back in the game. It’s been two years.”
“No! Really? I hadn’t noticed.” Sasha rubbed her temples as another man looked their way.
Anne half hugged her friend with one arm.
“What-ev Sash don’t you miss sex, like real sex?” She slurred slightly.
“Neil is looking for you.” Sasha pointed toward the dance floor. Anne kissed her cheek and ran off to dance. Sasha downed her second shot, checked on Cal who was still looking her way as a wiry yet muscular dark blond man approached. Attractive, but not her taste.
“Heads up Val, a dull-blue eyed suitor approaches for you.”
“Finally.” Valery looked around and spotted the man approaching. “Damn, super cute. But he’s looking at you not me.” She giggled as the man closed the distance.
“Evening ladies.” He drawled and smiled broadly.
“Well, well aren’t you a lovely sight.” Valery licked her lips and sucked a lemon wedge provocatively in a way only she could. Sasha resisted the temptation to roll her eyes.
He smiled at Valery then looked at Sasha and back. “I’m Baylor.”
“Ooh that’s an unusual name, rolls right off the tongue.”
Sasha glanced hurriedly at the exit. Valery was drunk enough that she could ditch her on the dance floor. They didn’t agree to go home together and if she thought she snuck out with this guy or another she’d be happy.
“I’m Val, and this is my sex starved friend Sasha.” She put her arm around Sasha’s shoulders.
“What do you lovely ladies do?”
Sasha knit her brows. The second man get right to conversation skipping the pick-up lines.
“I’m manage a design team.” Val smiled and put her hand on Sasha’s chest. “She, she’s a graphic designer, the very tip toppy best of the bunch.”
“So you’re a graphic designer?” Baylor looked at Sasha then Val. “Not you?”
“No sir, I manage, Sash creates. I’m drunk and need to dance big man, wanna take me for a spin?”
He looked her over and smiled. “I’d like to talk to your friend Sasha if you don’t mind.”
“Ooh, handsome and polite.” Valery put her mouth to Sasha’s ear. “I’ll be clicking my heels on the dance floor, come find me if you don’t take him home, but take him home.”
Sasha got up to follow Valery to the dance floor.
“Can’t we talk a moment? She can wait.” Baylor’s charming smile made her uneasy.
“No we cant. I’m not interested, I’m going to dance with my friend. Go find some other mark… Ah Baylor was it?”
“Yes Baylor. So where do you work?” He stepped in her way.
She pursed her lips catching a severe frown from Cal.
“Just a little chat, it won’t kill you.” He brushed his hand down her bare arm and she stepped back. If she managed a conversation long enough, she could leave unnoticed, and text Valery that she left once she was safely in a cab.
“Fine I’ll talk for a bit. Clifton designs It’s an alright company.”
“Was that so hard beautiful?” Baylor leered at her cleavage.
She swallowed her bile. “What do you do?”
“I’m in acquisitions and re-facing.”
Sasha cocked her head to the side and crossed her arms. “What is re-facing?”
“I find specific beautiful things and give them a new look.”
“Why?” She had no idea what he was talking about. It sounded like a fake job.
“To make them better of course.” He shrugged. “I’ve yet to find the perfect one. I think my next job will be a new style to try.”
She looked over at Valery and Anne on the dance floor across the bar. They were being silly and slutty and she almost wanted to join them. She would have if it had been any other night.
“Let’s go dance.” He reached for her hand.
“No thank you.” She snatched it from him before he could kiss it.
“Come on, you look like you could be fun if you loosened up.”
“No.”
He reached for her again and she backed up. “Look Baylor, you seem like a… nice guy. I don’t date, I’m going home alone, and no I won’t give you my number nor will I take yours. It was interesting meeting you. Goodnight.” She turned to leave and he grabbed her arm.
“I’ll walk you out.”
She pulled her arm from his hand and saw her friends watching. Maybe they would back off if they thought she took him home. Why that was acceptable behavior to them, Sasha would never understand.
“Whatever.” She was overcome with the need to get away from the bar, the attractive man still watching her, this odd man grabbing at her and her pushy friends.
After giving her friends a double thumbs up, she walked out and Baylor followed. It didn’t matter, there were two bouncers and the street was well lit. Taxi’s were always waiting and she could scream if he tried anything. He was forward and too grabby.
She jumped in a taxi and looked to see Baylor standing on the sidewalk. He smiled and shrugged as she gave the driver directions and he pulled out from the curb. She didn’t see his face fall and eyes darken as he ground his teeth.

My advice today.
Sometimes life can get in the way of doing what you enjoy, don’t let it stop you. Sometimes it’s good and sometimes it’s not. Do what is most important. If it’s not important and just a really big drat then side step it and get back on track.(I will)

-Sheryl

The first part of this bar encounter

Rejecting the rejected

Other fun posts.

Setting the mood

KISS your writing

Copyright © 2016 All rights reserved

Millions

10 thoughts on “Crazy things

What did you think?

