Missing body parts

Yeah I know it sounds like I’m going to get all creepy or something. Maybe I will, maybe I wont.  When it comes to writing I’m open to advice and suggestions.  Someone gave me some great advice. Take a good look at what’s missing. What parts of the body are being neglected or have just vanished into the abyss of easy writing?

There are the more obvious parts that I mention regularly because they are either the most used or the most commonly looked at.  But, there is so much more to the body than the obvious. From the hairs on your legs, arms and armpits to the

So I made a list of all the body parts I use to describe action and emotion and then compared it to a list of all body parts (On the outside, don’t get morbid on me here.) The main action parts stood out the most. This is just from a portion of writing I did, not an overall rule/example of all writing.

Head (Most parts of except ears for some reason and temples)
Mouth
Lips
Teeth
Nose
Bridge of nose
Nostrils
Cheeks
Chin
Forehead
Eyebrows
Eyelids
Feet
Hands and fingers
Arms
Legs in general
Thigh
Chest/breast
Back
Hip
Waist
Shoulders (The good ole shruggers)
Neck, nape, front back and side

So what am I neglecting?

Ears
Temples
Butt/backside
Knees
Elbows
Shins
Forearms
Toes
Knuckles
Ribs

That’s not to say I haven’t used the ‘neglected’ before, I just don’t use them often or where I could. For fun I’ll forgo the common parts this time. So here goes, a scene featuring the neglected.

After the infuriating post-lunch encounter with Scott, Sasha made it back to her office without her knees buckling. She elbowed the door closed behind her and rested her forearms on her desk. Sasha leaned forward to catch her breath. Her ears burned from Scott’s words and the undeniable gossip that was brewing outside now. Standing upright as Scott wrapped his knuckles on the door and came in closing it behind him.
“Are you insane?” She kept her voice down to a hiss rubbing her temples. “This is only going to make things worse for me.”
“I was sent to help you with the Proctor layout.” He leaned his firm backside against the edge of her desk casually. “This, tantrum or whatever your having is your own doing Sasha.”
“Unbelievable.” She kicked the desk instead of his shin, the satisfaction was lost in the sudden sharp pain in her toes. “This is your fault Scott. You should have left me alone.”
“I’m not the one kicking furniture. Though I suspect you’d rather kick me. I cant see why. I’m being honest with you.”
She didn’t buy that. Something was off with him and his sudden application of attention.
“Yes I would rather kick you. Why are you bothering with me? Is it because I’m saying no to you? Are you so self-absorbed that my rejecting you is interoperated as the starting line?” 
He laughed hard holding his ribs exaggeratedly. “Oh yeah, that’s a great way to describe it. Of course the chase is half the fun Sasha.” He moved away from the desk, bridged the gap between them in three steps and leaned close to her face. “I’m not giving up until I get what I want.”
“What is that?”
“You in bed with me.” His warm breath brushed across her skin.
“Not happening.” She ducked and moved away to behind her desk.
“We’ll see about that. Now let’s look at what you have for the layout so far.”

I think the lesson I learned from this is to think whole body and not just the ones I use like crutches. It was fun to think outside the usual and try out a few of the lesser parts.

My advice about leaving body parts out.
Don’t, put them back in, nobody wants a neckless, armless protagonist who only uses her hands and face. Give a few of the lesser mentioned bits and pieces a chance.

-Sheryl

Other body part posts:

Hold your tongue!

Shut your cake hole

Eyes that carry worlds

Copyright © 2016 All rights reserved
Bridge

14 thoughts on “Missing body parts

  1. Great advice for writers…
    trying to include these unmentioned body parts..
    Give the reader a more in depth vision of the characters.. more visualization is always good 😊.. it will make the reader more intune and able to evolve more into character..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “He leaned his firm backside…”

    I was about to say that this particular line was jarring and took me out of the experience, but when I thought it over, it actually added to the story you presented. Maybe it’s just me, but that piece of description implies that Sasha at least toys with a tinge of lust toward the other character. I’ll be honest when I say that I only mention posteriors as the butts of jokes (cheesy joke, I couldn’t resist.) But you managed to use them to reflect a character’s feelings.

    Not bad at all…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually stared at that line a bit, I wanted to remind the reader that she is attracted to him and that he’s good looking. Even if she’s seeing his less than desirable side more and more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really do, I wish people would leave more comments when we write things, is good to get likes but it’s even better to get a comment. You really should compile a book with your advice. There are so many people trying to get published ! Did I ever mention that I am psychic 😉🕷

        Liked by 1 person

        1. No you didn’t, that is fascinating, I bet you could write a very interesting perspective being psychic. Maybe one day I will compile a book for ‘how to’, for now I’m focusing on BiaAtlas being published first.

          Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

