Tricky Little Non-Rejection

I opened my email this evening to see the mini caption “Hello Sheryl, great news for you and your manuscript.”  Heart leaped to my throat and I opened it… to find a freaking advertisement for a submission review service.  For only $29.99 they will… UGH!!  That tricky little non-rejection was worse than the real thing.

I wonder how many people think gee, for thirty bucks I can have my submission reviewed. It’s tempting I wont lie, but it’s also risky. I look at it this way, I will try on my own with all the effort I’ve put into my editing, revision and query submissions. If by the end of my list I’m sitting at the bottom with nothing but no’s, then I’ll look at reaching out to find services to assist. In all seriousness something tells me that thirty bucks wont get me much in the way of a quality revision… That something is the research I’ve done to see what these services generally cost from professionals and it’s a whole lot more than even three hundred let alone thirty.

Needless to say it was fun to think someone was interested, but alas it was a false alarm. One day, I know that one day I’ll open my email and see that glorious positive response from an agent and it wont be someone looking to cash in on potentially desperate writers hoping to make it big while swimming through the sea of no-thank-you.

I continue to research my options, it takes time to figure out what to do next and frankly rushing is never a good idea.

My advice about false alarms.
Don’t let them get you down, no matter how excited you get before the let down. Think of them instead as a lukewarm practice for the real thing. 

-Sheryl

Other posts sort of like this one.

The rejection letter

Rejecting the rejected

The many faces of Rejection

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved
Lukewarm
Seriousness

9 thoughts on “Tricky Little Non-Rejection

    1. Well written. You managed to include several words in one go. I’d file 13 that sucker tbh since I have complete faith in your ability. You KNOW what you are doing. You share constantly what you know and have learned and YOU CAN DO THIS! I know you will get there.

      Liked by 2 people

        1. I imagine so. I am not sure I would have it in me to go through all of this. But you are younger and braver than me so kudos. You’ll do it I know you will. Your a great writer. The right person has to see your work and your away. But I can only imagine the patience and strength it takes to keep doing among so much “negativity”. (the no’s being that part) Remember it only takes ONE yes! mahaha

          Liked by 1 person

What did you think?

