How It Began

A few years ago I started writing my first manuscript. It is called BiaAtlas. I had no idea what I was doing or how I was going to actually write a book.

For as long as I can remember I’ve wanted to write and have had some exciting ideas, only I lacked the confidence. Every once in a while I’d think about how overwhelming it must be to not only come up with a unique concept let alone write it in an entertaining and captivating manner. I would think of JK Rowling, Stephen King, JRR Tolkien, Jude Deveraux, Laurell K Hamilton, George RR Martin, Jim Butcher and so many more beloved authors and I’d have a mini anxiety attack. How did they do it? How did they manage to captivate the world with their stories. How do they get the story from thier head to the page?

The answer is simple. They all did the same thing. They sat down and started. Sure there is a lot that goes on but you cant get anywhere if you don’t at least start.

I had bumbled around with the main concept of BiaAtlas for many years, slowly building up the world in which the characters live. I collected ideas and started generating the characters in my mind. One day while having a beer on the patio with my husband, we started talking about things. The subject of his music writing came up and I confessed to my secret desire to write a book someday. “He said why not? go for it.”

For another few days I though about it. Why not? The only thing stopping me is fear. Fear of failure, fear of rejection, fear of humiliation, fear of basically trying. That’s dumb and I told myself that.

The following day, now that the seed had been planted, I took a shower. With my brain in “what if” mode the first sentence popped into my head. I said it aloud and suddenly it all came into focus. Holy crap that’s it!

Dried and dressed I raced to my computer and wrote that line down.

“No Joe, I don’t believe in superheroes.”

This sentence started it all and I couldn’t stop. It was a collaboration of ideas that drove me to write out a story that had been with me so long. I told no one what I was doing. I got three chapters in and was certain I was on to something. I told my husband what I was up to but wouldn’t let him see it until it was done. I finished the first draft in about three months. It was wordy, messy and in very rough shape. After all I had no idea what I was doing.

I wrote a book, now what?

Then the research began. I edited, revised, edited, researched a whole lot more, revised again and kept going until I was ready for some professional advice. One bit of that advice was to strengthen my writers platform. It is much more difficult to get published if you have nothing to stand on. Thus the blog you are reading now.

This blog is about my journey as a novice writer to, hopefully, a published author. I’ve chosen traditional publishing for many reasons and I will continue down this path until there are no other options left or I succeed.

Even as I blog, I learn and discover. I’ve grown so much as a writer and a person. I’ve found a passion that drives me each and every day to push forward through rejections, nay-sayer’s, de-railers and those riddled with disguised jealousy…the saboteurs. I embrace the positive and those that help by offering support, constructive advice and kindness.

Now I have more than 6 manuscripts written and a lot of work cut out for me. I’ll continue writing and working to achieve my dream of becoming published traditionally. I will never give up.

My advice to anyone reading this
look inward to find your greatness and move forward no matter how many obstacles get in your way. Persistence will pay off and never give up on yourself.

-Sheryl

My first post: The “word count” down.

Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved
Collaboration

One thought on “How It Began

What did you think?

