What happened to that guy?

The forgotten character who hasn’t spoken in chapters. Yeah, I know, sometimes people are forgettable. That is a problem. Now I have to bring them back into the storyline.

This has happened to me twice. I will admit it because this is an opportunity in my opinion. If I’ve neglected them it’s for a reason. I have imagined the story progressing without them. I figure out why and then find a solution. Are they boring? Not enough personality? Are they crucial to the story? Do they complicate things unnecessarily?

For me, it’s a chance to spice someone up or darken their edges. Make them more likely to insult, or cower or perhaps say something funny. A good villain can be born from dialogue neglect. If I’ve neglected them maybe my characters have neglected him too. Make it an issue in the story. I could go back and make them moody or shy. The options are endless.

My advice about inadvertently leaving a character behind.

In my opinion, a flat character is your chance to shake it up. If all else fails, kill them in a relevant way to the plot or main character development. That way the reader won’t be asking “what happened to Bob?” Because they will know. Bob stepped into traffic and was hit by a car. He was sad and distracted about Juan ignoring him for three freaking chapters. Now Juan is riddled with remorse.

-Sheryl

 

Copyright © 2016 All rights reserved

10 thoughts on “What happened to that guy?

  1. Pingback: What happened to that guy? | I wrote a book. Now what?

  2. Pingback: Silliness and seriousness | I wrote a book. Now what?

  3. Pingback: It’s funny you said that… | I wrote a book. Now what?

  4. Pingback: Who’s who in the grand scheme of things | I wrote a book. Now what?

  5. Pingback: Negative or positive | I wrote a book. Now what?

  6. Pingback: I’m ‘that’ kind of writer | I wrote a book. Now what?

  7. Pingback: Stick a pin in it! | I wrote a book. Now what?

  8. Pingback: Take charge already! | I wrote a book. Now what?

  9. Pingback: Who are you again? | I wrote a book. Now what?

What did you think?